ADMU Home Loyola School Select
Home    About us    Academic Programs    Quick Links    News & Events    Departments    Photo Gallery    Centers    Contact Us   

Home > 
Ma. Assunta C. Cuyegkeng, Ph. D.

Vice-President, Loyola Schools

Contact Information:

E-mail: acuyegkeng at

Educational Background:

BS Chemistry
(summa cum laude)
Ateneo de Manila University
MS Chemistry Ateneo de Manila University
PhD Chemistry
(summa cum laude)
University of Regensburg, Germany

Research Interests:

Chemical Education


Meritorious Service Award, DOST-PCASTRD, 1997
Metrobank Search for Outstanding Teachers, 1997
Dr. Juan Salcedo Jr., Science Education Award, 1997
ASPAC Outstanding Junior Teacher, 1993

Selected Publications

Ma. Assunta C. Cuyegkeng, Terence G. Henares, Janeth B. Presores, and Ma. Amy L. Dimalanta. Comparison of Water Retention and Thermal Properties of Various Polysaccharides, Their Derivatives and Blends, Kimika 18 (1), 9-12(2002).

C. Kiefl, H. Zinner, M.A. Cuyegkeng, and A. Eiglsperger. Chirality and Asymmetric Transformations of Axially Chiral 4,5-Disubstituted Phenanthreneamides, Tetrahedron-Asymmetry, 11 (17): 3503-3513 SEP 8 2000

Ma. Assunta C. Cuyegkeng, Chona L. Maderal and Ann Joan H. Vallespin, Chemistry Beyond the Classroom: Linking High School Chemistry with the Local Community, The Chemical Education Journal (CEJ), Vol. 5, No. 2

Ma. Assunta C. Cuyegkeng, Ma. Amy L. Dimalanta. Thermal Properties and Water Retention Characteristics of Acetylated and Unacetylated Nata De Coco, Kimika, 13 (2), 57-62,1997.

Ma. Assunta C. Cuyegkeng, K.H. RimbÖck, A. Mannschreck, Triacetylcellulose on Silica Compared with Triacetyl Cellulose I as a Liquid Chromatographic Sorbent, Chromatographia, 21 (4), 223 (1986).
Copyright © 2008 Ateneo de Manila University. All rights reserved.

Biology alumna Dr. Nina Ingle receives prestigious Parker/Gentry Award

Dr. Angela Nina Ann R. Ingle (BS Biology 1985, magna cum laude) was given the prestigious Parker/Gentry...


Ateneans receive Ambassador Alfredo M. Yao Intellectual Property Awards

Three members of the School of Science and Engineering’s Department of Chemistry were recognized...


Our Partners